Back to top anchor
News and updates

The Treasury adopts new reo Māori name

Issue date: 
Monday, 11 March 2019

On Monday 11 March, the Treasury celebrated the reawakening of its wharenui (meeting house), Ngā Mokopuna a Tāne, after its relocation to level 3 at No.1 The Terrace. A dawn karakia and ceremony was held to complete the protocols for blessing taonga and restoring the wharenui to daily use.

Following this, Secretary to the Treasury Gabriel Makhlouf addressed staff and invited guests to acknowledge and celebrate the restored wharenui, and to announce the adoption of a new reo Māori name for the Treasury: Te Tai Ōhanga.

The Treasury has held the name Kaitohutohu Kaupapa Rawa since 1988. As it draws more deeply on te Ao Māori in its development as an organisation and in its public sector leadership role, it has sought a new reo Māori name to better represent externally all that it is and does.

The Treasury's focus on intergenerational wellbeing and the Māori-Crown relationship provide the basis for the name that has been selected, in consultation with the Māori Language Commission, Mana Whenua and Māori networks, key leaders and many of its own staff.

Click on the links below to read Mr Makhlouf's speech, where he explains the meaning and relevance of this name to the Treasury and its work.

Last updated: 
Monday, 11 March 2019