Back to top anchor
Media statement

Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff join Treasury Board

Issue date: 
Wednesday, 11 July 2018
Corporate author: 
View point: 

Secretary to the Treasury Gabriel Makhlouf has appointed Ms Traci Houpapa and Mr Richard Wagstaff as new non-executive directors on the Treasury’s Board.

“I’m pleased to have people of the calibre of Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff joining the Treasury Board,” says Mr Makhlouf.

“They are respected New Zealanders with valuable governance and leadership experience. I look forward to drawing on Traci and Richard’s expertise and insights from business, the public service and non-government organisations.”

The Treasury Board was established in 2010.  It is an advisory body that supports the Treasury's Chief Executive and Executive Leadership Team in ensuring that its organisational strategy, capability and performance make the best possible contribution to the achievement of its goals.

Traci Houpapa has served on the Board of Landcorp(Pāmu) since 2010, and as Chair from 2015 until April 2018. She holds a number of governance roles and is the Chair of the Federation of Māori Authorities. Traci has a Masters in Business Administration, was awarded the Massey University Distinguished Alumni Service Award for services to New Zealand agribusiness and Māori, and won the Board and Management award at the New Zealand Women of Influence Awards in 2015. She is a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to business and Māori.

Richard Wagstaff has been President of the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions since 2015. He has considerable knowledge of the public service, built over 27 years at the Public Service Association (PSA). In his previous role as National Secretary of the PSA between 2000 and 2015, Richard was responsible for overseeing industrial and political strategies and operations for New Zealand’s largest trade union. He has served as a member of the Careerforce Board and the Better Public Service Advisory Board.

Traci Houpapa and Richard Wagstaff replace Sir Ralph Norris and Whaimutu Dewes, who have departed the Treasury Board.

“I am grateful to Sir Ralph Norris and Whaimutu Dewes for their positive contributions to the Treasury Board over the past five years. Their good advice and counsel have played a large part in the Board’s effectiveness,” says Mr Makhlouf.

The current Treasury Board members are Gabriel Makhlouf, Fiona Ross (the Treasury’s Chief Operating Officer), Cathy Quinn, Mark Verbiest, Harlene Hayne, Traci Houpapa, Richard Wagstaff and John Fraser (Secretary to the Australian Treasury).


Bryan McDaniel | Principal Communications Advisor
Telephone: (04) 917 6268 or 021 817 207
Last updated: 
Wednesday, 11 July 2018